Disc Golf Etiquette

Evolution

New MiniI decided that a blog about disc golf etiquette that was required to use “douche bag” over and over again was counter-productive so I have shifted to DBFreeDiscGolf.

There was a whole lot of sarcasm built into some nick-names my friends and I had in Flagstaff where I first learned to disc golf for real.  There was D-Noz – who throws a crazy forehand Beast, I was the Douche Master, and there was the always hated Douche Deity.  The nick-names were both positive and negative, endearing or sometimes only muttered under our breaths.  Douche Bag had many meanings.  When I moved to California and learned about NorCal disc golf, the term Douche Bag took on a completely new meaning.

Everything evolves, including this blog, and hopefully the nature of the golf community, particularly in Northern California.  I’m hoping that the tone of the blog will be a bit more friendly – being more family friendly is certainly in keeping with the purposes of this blog.  It is difficult because of how awesome my first disc golf community is and how different this one can be.  I don’t mention enough that not every person who acts like a DB is really a DB all the time.  I don’t mention often enough that for every DB I deal with I meet 10 quality people looking to make the most of such an awesome and accessible sport.

So for a positive, I threw a personal best, bogie-free, 9 under par, 45 at the Auburn, Ca. Disc Golf Course this morning.  Even though the course is set very short and really friendly for my forehand Firebird, it has been raining for several days and was steadily raining the entire two rounds I played.  I had to stay quite focused and take my time.  I had to rotate my towels and my putters.  The first round was poor because I didn’t feel like warming up in the rain and just got started but I was good and warm by the second.

I need to start playing Rocklin because the next event is the Rocklin Ice Bowl on January 5th.  I tend to want to play the course of the next event for several weeks before the event.  However, I have noticed that the courses are frequently set deceptively easy and consciously opposite from the tournament’s layout.  Yet I continue to try and play those courses as much as I can leading up to an event.  I’m not sure if it helps or not.  Maybe it builds too much expectation.  What do you think?

 

Categories: Disc Golf Etiquette

2 replies »

Leave a Reply

