Disc Golf Etiquette

2013 Blog and Disc Golf Goals

Now that the 2012 Tournament season has ended a summary of my performance against my goals and a statement of 2013 goals is in order.  We only can improve when we have transparent and stated goals to aspire to, so here they are:

2012 Goals:

  1. End year with a +900 rating – 66% of my rounds were above 900, rating will be 915ish after the next update.
  2. Develop a Backhand – continues to improve with strength training, used freely last 2 events.
  3. Develop a consistent putting routine – haven’t changed anything for about 6 months, improving with practice.
  4. Run the 2012 San Francisco Marathon – Hernia and subsequent surgery prevented.

2013 Blog Goals:

  1. Develop blog into a space for etiquette minded and socially responsible people to build a respected disc golf community.
  2. Be more consistent -weekly posts with more content specific photos.
  3. Be more interactive – weekly posts end with rules or situational questions for discussion.  Most importantly for the blog, D.B. activities will be posted separately and only if the offenders are given the opportunity to respond.  Business cards will be given to individuals I plan to write about to ensure they have an opportunity to respond.  Only through open dialog will we transform the attitudes prevalent in our sport.

2013 Golf Goals:

  1. End year with a +935 rating.  Play Advanced for all NorCal Series events in 2013.
  2. Increase Backhand skills – hyzers over objects, anhyzers around objects, use Mid-Range discs more aggressively off the Tee.
  3. Be automatic from 20′ and aggressive from 40′ – keep track of putting game scores.
  4. Be healthier and better prepared – Run the 2013 San Francisco Marathon, run 1 Adventure Race or Mud Run, develop and use Pre-tournament checklists, Pre-round warm-ups, and Exercise logs to track performance.

Thanks to Miller who suggested I attach a workout band to a disk to duplicate the throwing motion and the grip during strength training.  It is already showing results in my score and I am starting to build some confidence in my backhand.

I would also like to do a better job not smoking or drinking at all during tournament days in 2013.  There were several rounds where my score suffered because I got bored and had a smoke or had a beer in between rounds.  I really don’t do it during practice rounds so I shouldn’t do it during tournament rounds.

Had a bad D.B. interaction with a local group in Auburn, Ca on the 4th but I didn’t provide them with a card and the opportunity to craft a response so I’ll keep it to myself this time.  Posted my tentative 2013 schedule to be more specifically updated as dates are confirmed.  Have a good off-season and remember:

Don’t be the douche bag on the course today.

Categories: Disc Golf Etiquette

6 replies »

  1. I recently moved the practice basket to 300′ – increased 50′ from 250′ – and count the birdies. I drive all my drivers, practicing a variety of shots, and then count the number of birdies I have from their lies. Not getting that many off the backhand at the moment but my distance is getting better. Plus it helps me practice a variety of putts from a natural lie rather than the more contrived putting exercises I have developed.

  2. tell me more about your training strap attached to a disc. I am very interested in this as a way of building muscle memory for consistency.

    • Hi Ernie,

      I’ve just been confident enough to throw the backhand in events and largely because of the strap. I attached an exercise band my wife doesn’t use to a sidewinder I’m not throwing anymore by drilling a hole just inside the rim.

      I managed a small carabiner through the hole and attached it to the band. I think a more symmetrical method of attaching might work better though – a U shaped fastener from Home depot for example. The asymmetrical shape of the carabiner does not allow for as much variation in Hyzer. I also had to tape both ends so the excess band grip did not get too loose and bother me.

      I use the band two ways. I attach one end to a door knob or another point at the height of my usually drawback. I had to be careful at first because I attached it to a point that was too low and it caused my drives to stand up. This did give me an idea how to improve my big hyzer over-the-trees shot by anchoring the band a lot lower so I could practice a full reach back at the correct angle to launch a drive higher.

      The one weakness in the system is that it does not mimic the wrist snap at the end well. My shoulder extension is a lot better, I have a fuller range of motion, and my forearm is getting a lot stronger. I just have to make sure not to get too fast with the exercise and keep my form. While it has built muscle, its greatest benefit is in the fuller reach back and the longer stroke.

      I think you have it right – build muscle memory not muscle.

      Thanks for reading,
      Justin

  3. I just came across this, pretty neat!

    A few things I work on when practicing
    – Never putt cold, you’ll just get frustrated, throw your driving practice first

    – Get prepared to practice, don’t just show up and start throwing, have a purpose of what you want to improve before you go. Sometimes I go just to stay warmed up and “in the groove”

    – Concentrate on being smooth and clean with your throws, the less effort you waste in your run up, pull (not swing), and release will give you more distance, more control, more consistency, and you won’t tire as easily or as much

    – When driving I throw the same shot with my whole bag, side arm, back hand, rollers, power grip, fan grip, ect Everything from drivers down to putters, you never know when you’ll need that shot and when that time comes and you pull out that “miracle” shot nobody saw coming, you’ll love yourself for it and possibly amaze a few people at the same time as saving strokes.

    – Use your first shot from each disc type (putter, mid, driver) as the target for the follow up shots, try to be within 10% of the distance of the shot (10ft for a 100ft shot ect)

    – Concentrate on what you’re doing and think about each shot, what you want it to do and how that’s going to happen, nothing else.

    I go to field 100% non-disc golf related for my practice and work on everything, I try to go to one that has some trees somewhere on it so I can work on upshots and weird stances as well as set up a basket and put around trees.

    After a while, it all becomes second nature and you’ll want to leave it at that, but don’t.

    Everybody needs to “go back to the basics” otherwise you’ll start slipping a little in your technique, then a little more, then a little more, Just like getting better a little at a time, you can start losing those gains the same little at a time. I noticed myself slacking off and played just on what I had done for years, I saw a video of me going for max distance and realized I was swinging my arm instead of pulling it. Just a personal example of how you can think you’re doing what you’re supposed to do when you’re really doing it wrong!

    • Thanks for the ideas. I like the one about making the same shot with each disc in my bag. Learn the way each disc flies in every situation. Never know what might come up or when.

      I am currently going to the practice field to increase my longer distance Mako approaches and my straddle putts. On the course, I am trying to improve the height on my backhand drives. Always working on something, right.

      Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

