Disc Golf Etiquette

Dog’s on the disc Golf Course

I have a dog, his name is Ivan.  He loves discs; he gets his own so he won’t mess with mine.  It also keeps him from barking.  He golfs with me but only when my wife golfs.  He loves it when we golf.  Sometimes, if he’s lucky, he gets to be off his leash.  It keeps him fit and happy to be out with the family.  I love dogs.  I have saved many dogs in my life.  My parents still have a dog my wife saved 10 years ago – my dad is frowning right now, if he happens to be reading this.

One of the ways disc golf is, happily, different from ball golf is that you can frequently bring your dog.  This does not mean that you get to spend less attention on your dog than you do at home.  You need to spend more attention.  Unfortunately, many people think they can bring their dog, leave the dog off the leash, ignore it, and take a vacation from responsibility.  This is unacceptable.  It is exactly like having a crying baby in a movie theater.  You wouldn’t do that would you?  They wouldn’t let you.

I can’t golf with my dog without someone there to watch him.  I can’t give the game the focus it requires when I split time watching the dog; I care way too much about my score.  And I have the best dog ever.  I have only known one dog that could be off the leash all the time.  A friend from Flagstaff has a dog that can be off leash during the whole round regardless what is going on.  His dog is ancient, I’m not sure I’ve ever seen him run.

In order to keep the privilege of bringing our dogs golfing we need to follow some rules:

Your dog should ALWAYS BE LEASHED if there are other golfers anywhere near you, no matter how good you think your dog is.  Barking dogs should be removed from the course if it persists.  Your dog should NEVER EVER touch, pick up, or drool on someone else’s disc.  Yelling at your dog is NOT a substitute for a leash.  Yelling at your dog can be far more annoying than your dog.  Your dog can’t be a douche bag but you CAN BE a douche bag because of your dog.

These rules are for urban public park courses.  Object course in the woods have obvious advantages.  My dog gets to be off leash during specific times during the round at certain spots on the course and only if there are not any other golfers near by.  He doesn’t bark and worse case is he drools on my disc.  We don’t give him a chance to drool on your disc.  If you are in a group that doesn’t mind your dog off-leash, then by all means.  If you can’t devote the proper attention to your dog, leave the dog at home and remember,

Don’t be the douche bag on the course today.

Categories: Disc Golf Etiquette

2 replies »

  1. You hit the nail on the head re: dogs on the course. I love dogs, and I enjoy seeing them on the course when they are on leash and receiving proper attention. However, how many times has an untended dog crossed my lie? How many times has a DB screamed at his dog from across the fairway–for the tenth time that round–as I am getting ready to drive or putt? In 18 years of playing, I realize it has been far, far too many times indeed.

    Disc golfers are known for being laid back and tolerant. And, after all, we’re taking a walk in the park and throwing Frisbees–so of course there will be dogs! However, disc golf is a sport, and many players take their rounds seriously. I value my rounds. Competing against the course and my playing partner(s) is challenging enough without having to compete against the roaming dog and that dog’s incessantly-scolding douchebag owner.

    The next time I see a well-tended dog on the course, I will make an effort to thank the owner for his or her consideration of other players. However, I’m pretty sure that before I get that chance that at least one DB will scream at his terrier to “get the eff over here!” just as I am about to release a tricky 100 ft approach shot. Cuz that’s how it always seems to go!

    Great topic. Ivan is one of the best disc golf dogs ever, and I look forward to playing with him again!

Leave a Reply

